35 East Main Street is a location with a rich history in Richwood’s downtown. A fire in 1921 destroyed the majority of Richwood’s Main Street; our building construction was completed in 1923, the building opened as the Richwood Bakery. The bakery was a prominent business in Richwood, in it’s prime the bakery used 5 barrels of flour per day to bake over 1300 loaves of bread for the booming logging town. The Northern Hotel stood beside the bakery, that space is now the Sterling Spencer Memorial Sculpture Garden.
Our goal was to preserve as much of the history and charm as we could, while making the nearly hundred-year-old building functional. Some of the fun details we saved are: bricks from the bake oven that serves as the bar base, the fun, concrete walls and floors, salvaged wood, the front window design, the wooden floors, and tin ceiling tiles. Renovating this space was a complicated, yet fun process, we are grateful for our friends and family who helped us during the process.